Andrew Dunn Jr. named 2019-20 KU Male Athlete of the Year

A major conference award, a regional title and a No. 1 ranking were all accolades accomplished by Kutztown University wrestler Andrew Dunn Jr., last season. To cap off the 2019-20 school year, the redshirt-junior was voted the KU Male Athlete of the Year, Wednesday.

It is the second straight year that the Bethlehem native has earned the recognition, having been named Male Athlete of the Year last year. He is the third different grappler to earn the prestigious award, which has been presented since 1987, and sixth time overall a wrestler has won it. KU's annual year-end awards are voted upon by the athletic department's administration, coaches and staff.

With the cancellation of the NCAA Division II Championships this spring, Dunn Jr. remains the defending heavyweight national champion, having won it in March of 2019. He finished last season with a perfect 20-0 record, winning his second straight Super Region 1 title in February. Dunn Jr.'s success led him to two major postseason awards, earning the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Athlete of the Year and the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Division II Super Region 1 Wrestler of the Year.

A two-time All-American, Dunn Jr. is 46-2 overall, 46-0 against Division II opponents in two seasons as a Golden Bear. He topped the NWCA's Division II heavyweight national rankings from start-to-finish during the 2019-20 season. He defeated three nationally-ranked opponents, including a 3-2 decision over third-ranked Jacob Robb of Mercyhurst to win the super regional championship. The former Bethlehem Catholic prep and Virginia Tech transfer collected five major decisions, four pins and a technical fall this past season. Dunn Jr. is currently riding a 38-match winning streak.

Kutztown finished 10-4 overall in dual meets last season.

Dunn Jr. joins former Kutztown wrestling standouts Joe Kemmerer (2007, 2009) and Ziad Haddad (2014, 2015) as all-time recipients of the KU Male Athlete of the Year Award.

To view these students click here: