Bridgestone Plant Manager Appointed to Aiken County Commission for Higher Education

Related Media

AIKEN, SC (02/14/2018) The University of South Carolina Aiken announced that Adam Barfoot, plant manager for Bridgestone Americas' Off Road Radial Tire Manufacturing Plant, has been appointed to the Aiken County Commission for Higher Education.

"The Aiken County Commission for Higher Education was established in 1961 by an act of the South Carolina General Assembly for the purpose of establishing the Aiken campus," said Dr. Sandra Jordan, chancellor.

"Today, the commission focuses on the university's physical assets and assists USC Aiken by advocating for funding for capital expenditures, including permanent equipment, renovations and major maintenance expenses."

Barfoot joins the other members of the ACCHE, including:

Teresa Haas, interim chair

Clarence Jackson, interim vice chair

Charles Marvin, IV, secretary/treasurer

Dr. Sean Alford, ex-officio

Carlos Garcia, ex-officio

Dr. Nancy Busbee

Sallye Rich

Tim Simmons

Lee Wetherington, Jr.

As Bridgestone's local plant manager, Barfoot is responsible for all aspects of the facility's safety, quality control and production. Barfoot is one of five original Bridgestone teammates appointed to the Aiken ORR plant start-up team in 2011.

He joined the Bridgestone family in 2004 and has held leadership positions at several of the company's tire manufacturing sites. Prior to his current position, Barfoot served as Operations Manager of the Off Road plant and as Operations Manager and Scheduling and Industrial Engineering Manager at the company's truck and bus tire plants in Middle Tennessee.

Barfoot received his bachelor's degree in Industrial and Systems Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology and his MBA from Middle Tennessee State University. He is a Six Sigma-Black Belt.

He serves on the Megiddo Dream Station Board of Directors, a nonprofit focused on second chances and getting people to work. He is also a member of the Aiken County Manufacturing Council.