CSEA President Danny Donohue will continue to lead New York's leading Union

ALBANY, NY (02/11/2016)(readMedia)-- CSEA members have re-elected President Danny Donohue and his leadership slate to an unprecedented seventh term of office, which begins March 1.

"These are challenging times as CSEA members and other working people continue to be squeezed and undercut by the manipulation of our economy to benefit the greedy few," Donohue said. "My priority is a stronger union that can better stand up and push back."

"CSEA members appreciate being part of a statewide organization and a Labor Movement that's bigger than themselves. But, they need to feel the connection more strongly as individuals where they work and live - and make their voice heard," Donohue said.

Also returning to office for four-year terms are CSEA Executive Vice President Mary E. Sullivan and Statewide Secretary Denise Berkley.

Sullivan has served as CSEA's Executive Vice President since 1994 and previously was the union's statewide Treasurer. Originally from Herkimer County, she also serves as the president of the Capital District Area Labor Federation, which represents 120,000 union members and their families across 11 counties.

Berkley was first elected CSEA Statewide Secretary in 2008. Berkley's union activism began at the Brooklyn Developmental Center. As a longtime union activist, Berkley remains committed today to the ongoing struggle for social, racial and economic justice for workers and communities.

William "Billy" Walsh was elected CSEA Statewide Treasurer as part of the Donohue slate, replacing Joseph McMullen, who is retiring. Walsh is a member of the CSEA Town of Brookhaven Blue Collar Unit and serves as the union's Suffolk County Local President and statewide Political Action Committee Chair.

In CSEA's region elections, Long Island Region President Nick LaMorte, Metropolitan Region President Lester Crockett and Southern Region President Billy Riccaldo were all returned to office. Western Region President Flo Tripi and Central Region President Colleen Wheaton ran unopposed. In the Capital Region, Ron Briggs, a CSEA leader from Fulton County, was elected to succeed Kathy Garrison, who ran against Donohue.

The election was conducted by mail ballot and overseen by the American Arbitration Association.

- 30 -