Copy of: RAD Student Selected for National Honor

Related Media

OWENSBORO, KY (02/20/2018) Owensboro Community & Technical College (OCTC) student Ashley Morris was one of two students selected to represent the state of Kentucky at the 2018 American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Student Leadership Development Program. This honor also includes the opportunity to attend the ASRT Educational Symposium and Annual Governance Meeting, June 21-24, in Las Vegas.

Radiography Program Coordinator, Dr. Joy Menser added, "Ashley is a great student and will really benefit from this opportunity. It is really vital that our students understand the profession from a local and national perspective. "

This is the first time a KCTCS or OCTC student has been selected for this honor. The all-expenses paid program offers students a chance to experience the ASRT, attend educational sessions, and network with medical imaging and radiation therapy professionals.

"We are thrilled that one of our students has been selected for this honor and are very proud of all that Ashley has done thus far and all that she will accomplish in her career" added Dr. Scott Williams, OCTC President.

Morris is a graduate of South Spencer high school and a first-generation college student. Her parents are Rick and Lynne Morris of Rockport, Indiana. She decided to pursue radiography because she has a strong desire to help others and her love for technology. Thus, this profession gives her both. She hopes one day to work in a trauma facility and be an advocate for her profession.

Morris will be exposed to the "behind the scenes" work of the society and will attend a house of delegates meeting. The ASRT governs radiologic practice standards, by-laws, curriculum, and serves as the national governing and certification body.

The mission of the ASRT is to advance and elevate the medical imaging and radiation therapy profession and to enhance the quality and safety of patient care. For more info please visit


Owensboro Community & Technical College is one of the sixteen community and technical colleges that make up the Kentucky Community & Technical College System. OCTC serves the KY counties of Daviess, Hancock, Ohio and McLean. OCTC has three campuses in Daviess County and a Center and Annex in Hancock County. OCTC strives to serve the communities in the service area by providing associate degree education for transfer, state of the art technical education for students focusing on entering the workforce, customized business and industry solutions through the Workforce Solutions division, and adult education and business and industry testing through the SkillTrain unit.


The American Society of Radiologic Technologists, based in Albuquerque, N.M., represents the health care professionals who perform medical imaging procedures or plan and deliver radiation therapy. The Society is the largest radiologic science association in the world. Its mission is to advance the medical imaging and radiation therapy profession and to enhance the quality of patient care.


The Kentucky Community and Technical College System is the Commonwealth's largest postsecondary institution with 16 colleges and more than 70 campuses. We also are Kentucky's largest provider of workforce training and online education. Through partnerships with business and industry, we align our programs to meet the needs of local employers. We help students fulfill their dreams of creating a better life through programs that lead directly to jobs or help them transfer to one of our four-year partners.

Connect with OCTC: Owensboro.kctcs | | Twitter@OCTC_Tweets | Instagram OwensboroCTC