Experienced Horseshoe Throwers Compete in Championship at Iowa State Fair

DES MOINES, IA (09/11/2017) (readMedia)-- Horseshoe throwers from across the state competed in the Iowa State Men's Championship division of the Horseshoe Contest Saturday at the 2017 Iowa State Fair.

The State Fair hosts horseshoe competitions every Fair day. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the horseshoe courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.

Iowa State Men's Championship

1) Tome Tabat, Urbandale

2) Dave Mittlestadt, Jewell

3) Ron Rowley, West Des Moines

4) Jason Clark, Monticello

5) Vern Kollasch, Iowa City

6) Pat Simon Sr., Waterloo

7) Joseph Smith, Gladbrook

8) Tom Cranston, Keswick

9) Dennis L. Hopkins, Missouri Valley

10) Doug P. Anderson, Stratford

11) Ronnie Burgess, Cedar Rapids

12) John Peterson, Oskaloosa

Class A

1) Marty Spraue, Fort Dodge

2) Timothy Pew, Des Moines

3) Toby Hoyer, Alburnett

4) Steve Ronk, Council Bluffs

5) Randy Fox, Council Bluffs

6) Paul Clark, Marshaltown

Class B

1) Jan Warwick, Ames

2) Rick Hudson, Stuart

3) John Ridgely, Earlham

4) Kevin Turbett, Tama

5) James J. Albright Jr, Treynor

6) Rick Allen, Crescent

Class C

1) Stanley Hanson, Pleasant Hill

2) Kenny Wiese, Story City

3) Ralph Davis, Ankeny

4) Steve Hatch, Knoxville

5) Mike Albright, Council Bluffs

6) Kevin Pieper, Stuart

Class D

1) Randy Clark, Monroe

2) Russell Wiese, Roland

3) Steve Jackson, Burlington

4) Brandon DeBord, Des Moines

5) Bob Wiese, Roland


Frequently ranked as one of the top events in the country, the Iowa State Fair is the single largest event in the state of Iowa and one of the oldest and largest agricultural and industrial expositions in the country. Annually attracting more than a million people from all over the world, the Iowa State Fair located at East 30th and East University, just 10 minutes from downtown Des Moines is Iowa's greatest celebration with a salute to the best in agriculture, industry, entertainment and achievement. "Nothing Compares" to State Fair Thrills, August 10-20, 2017. For more information, visit www.iowastatefair.org.