Fuhrman voted 2019-20 KU Female Athlete of the Year

One of the most decorated players in Kutztown University field hockey history, senior Mackenzie Fuhrman was named the 2019-20 KU Female Athlete of the Year, Tuesday.

Fuhrman is the seventh Golden Bear field hockey player to earn the prestigious award, which has been presented since 1987. KU's annual year-end awards are voted upon by the athletic department's administration, coaches and staff.

The Lancaster native set new career-highs in games played and started (22), goals (six) and game-winning goals (three) in leading KU to PSAC championship game and NCAA Final Four appearances. Fuhrman, a midfielder, was recognized as an All-PSAC First Team and NFHCA All-America First Team player for the third year running.

Fuhrman surpassed the 20-point barrier for the second straight season, finishing with six goals and eight assists for 20 points as the Golden Bears compiled a 15-7 overall record with six wins coming over teams ranked in the top 10 of the NFHCA's Division II Poll. She was tied for fifth in the conference in assists and concluded her four-year career with 28 helpers --third most in program history.

Fuhrman was an integral part of head coach Marci Scheuing's lineup on both sides of the field over the last four seasons. She played in 77 career games, starting 75, and was a two-time team MVP. Fuhrman was recently honored on April 21 as KU's Female Senior Athlete of the Year.

Fuhrman also received the distinguished honor of being named a Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Fall Top 10 Award winner this year. She is the first Golden Bears fall athlete, male or female, to earn such a distinction since 2008.

In the classroom, Fuhrman is a multi-year member of the Dean's List and set to become a four-time PSAC Scholar-Athlete list. She's also appeared on the NFHCA National Academic Squad and NFHCA Scholar of Distinction list throughout her career. Fuhrman is a two-time D2ADA Academic Achievement Award recipient. She received one of the nation's highest academic honors for a student-athlete at the conclusion of the 2018-19 academic year when she was voted to the CoSIDA Academic All-America At-Large Third Team among a pool of student-athletes from numerous sports. She's on the ballot to become a two-time Academic All-American after receiving Academic All-District accolades for a second time this spring.

The Golden Bears won just their second NCAA postseason game in program history --first since 1988-- this past season and advanced to the Division II national semifinals for the first time since 1982. Kutztown's 15 victories signified the program's highest total in a season since 2007.

Fuhrman joins former KU field hockey standouts Gwen Kerr (1989), Lisa Marrella (1990), Shayn Mosley (1992), Laura Kline (2006), Erin Reynolds (2014) and Anna Behm (2016) as all-time recipients of the KU Female Athlete of the Year Award.

To view these students click here: https://kutztown.meritpages.com/achievements/Fuhrman-voted-2019-20-KU-Female-Athlete-of-the-Year/123562