Iowa State Fair Board Elections

DES MOINES, IA (12/11/2023) (readMedia)-- During the annual State Agricultural Convention, held December 10, 2024 in conjunction with the Association of Iowa Fairs Conference, elections were held for positions on the Iowa State Fair Board of Directors.

As outlined in Iowa Code, county fair delegates representing six geographic districts in Iowa elect two board members to serve two-year staggered terms on the Iowa State Fair Board. Directors re-elected by their districts are Alan Brown, Hampton (North Central); John Harms, Monticello (Northeast); C.W. Thomas, Guthrie Center (Southwest); Randy Brown, Osceola (South Central); Darwin Gaudian, Primghar (Northwest); and Curtis Claeys, Grand Mound (Southeast).

Board Officers re-elected for 2024 are as follows:

President: Darwin Gaudian, Primghar (Northwest)

Vice President: Curtis Claeys, Grand Mound (Southeast)

Treasurer: Deb Zumbach, Coggon (Northeast)

Jeremy Parsons, Des Moines, was re-appointed as Board Secretary.

Other Iowa State Fair Board Members include:

Tennie Carlson, Stratford (North Central); Gary Van Aernam, Exira (Southwest); Deb Zumbach, Coggon (Northeast); Jo Reynolds, Indianola (South Central); and Gary McConnell, Bloomfield (Southeast) and VerDon Schmidt, Everly (Northwest). Board Members by office held are Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds (represented by Lt. Governor Adam Gregg); Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig (represented by Grant Menke); and Iowa State University President Wendy Wintersteen (represented by Andrea Welchans).


Frequently ranked as one of the top events in the country, the Iowa State Fair is the single largest event in the state of Iowa and one of the oldest and largest agricultural and industrial expositions in the country. Annually attracting more than a million people from all over the world, the Iowa State Fair, located at East 30th and East University, just 10 minutes from downtown Des Moines, is Iowa's greatest celebration with a salute to the best in agriculture, industry, entertainment and achievement. Catch Fair Fever at the Iowa State Fair, August 8-18, 2024. For more information, visit