Joey Owens Named NACC Honorable Mention

The Rockford University football program had seven players recognized by the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference on Friday morning when the NACC released its 2019 all-conference teams. Wide receiver Kalan Miller and linebacker Jallen Bashford highlighted the group with their Second Team All-NACC selections, while LaVar Johnson Jr., Adam Ambrogio, Gerardo Zamudio, Jermaine Johnson and Joey Owens all received NACC Honorable Mention status. This marks the second time in the past three seasons that Rockford has had seven players earn postseason recognition from the NACC.

Sophomore wide receiver Joey Owens was selected NACC Honorable Mention. Owens made a splash in his first full season as a starting wide receiver. He finished the regular season fourth in the NACC in both receiving yards (636) and receptions (45), while adding a pair of receiving touchdowns. Additionally, Owens' 45 receptions are tied for fifth most in a season in school history and his 636 receiving yards are sixth all-time in a season.

To view these students click here: