LaVar Johnson Jr. Named NACC Honorable Mention

The Rockford University football program had seven players recognized by the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference on Friday morning when the NACC released its 2019 all-conference teams. Wide receiver Kalan Miller and linebacker Jallen Bashford highlighted the group with their Second Team All-NACC selections, while LaVar Johnson Jr., Adam Ambrogio, Gerardo Zamudio, Jermaine Johnson and Joey Owens all received NACC Honorable Mention status. This marks the second time in the past three seasons that Rockford has had seven players earn postseason recognition from the NACC.

Senior running back LaVar Johnson Jr. was named NACC Honorable Mention. Johnson finished in the top ten in the NACC in a trio of categories. He ranked third in rushing touchdowns (10), fifth in rushing attempts (163) and eighth in rushing yards (725). All three of those totals also rank in the top ten in school history for a single season. For his career, Johnson is now third all-time in rushing touchdowns (19), fourth all-time in rushing yards (1,623) and fifth all-time in rushing attempts (339).

To view these students click here: