Leavenworth resident Madeline Wilcox wins 1st Place Female Division at KU Ranger Buddy competition

Related Media

Madeline Wilcox

LAWRENCE, KS (04/13/2012)(readMedia)-- Madeline Wilcox, 18, a sophomore in political science at the University of Kansas, won First Place Female Division at the 18th annual Ranger Buddy Competition.

She is the daughter of Mark and Lori Wilcox and graduate of Leavenworth High School, Leavenworth.

Two-person teams from 28 colleges and universities in 12 states competed at the 18th Annual Kansas Army ROTC Ranger Buddy Competition on Saturday, March 31, at the Sesquicentennial Park area at Clinton Lake southwest of Lawrence. Cadets on male, female, or co-ed teams went through a series of grueling events as they vied for the title of Best Ranger Buddy Team.

In the end, the Jayhawks emerged from the 250 cadet competition as the "Top Battalion" or best overall school. Making the victory possible, KU won first place in the Male Division and Female Division for the event. In the Female Division, Cadet Sarah Meyer – New London HS, New London, IA – and Madeline Wilcox – Leavenworth HS, Leavenworth, KS – edged out their opponents with a first place finish in the final 5km run for the day.

The nine events for this year's contest included a 15 km Ruck March, 7 round robin events, and a 5 km race. The round robin events consisted of mini-obstacle courses that tested cadets' knowledge of knots, planning process, classes of supply and logistics, shooting skills, grenade skills, and first aid skills. Additionally, each round robin event included a historical theme to remind cadets of past battles that rangers have fought. For instance, Pointe-du-Hoc included a challenge to scale a hillside reminding cadets of the Rudder's Second Ranger Battalion's battle to scale the cliffs during Normandy landings in World War II.

Overall Best School and "Top Battalion" - University of Kansas

Male Division

1st Place: Bergman and McConnell, University of Kansas

2nd Place: Hartfield and Weaver, Pittsburg State University

3rd Place: Harris and Brodersen, Oklahoma University

Female Division

1st Place: Meyer and Wilcox, University of Kansas

2nd Place: Skaggs and Barbour, Pittsburg State University

3rd Place: Snamiska and Kehl, Marquette University

Coed Division

1st Place: Peno and Williams, North Dakota State University

2nd Place: Johnson and Senff, North Dakota University

3rd Place: Oberg and Henson, Iowa State University

The following schools competed in this year's event: University of Kansas, Kansas State University, Pittsburg State University, University of Arkansas – Fayetteville, Central Missouri State University, University of Colorado – Boulder, University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign, University of Illinois-Chicago, University of Iowa, Iowa State University, Marquette, University of Minnesota –Mankato, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, University of Missouri – Columbia, Missouri Science and Technology, Missouri Western State University, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of Nevada-Las Vegas, University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Northeastern State University, University of Northern Iowa, University of Oklahoma, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, South Dakota State University, The College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University, Washington University, and Wentworth Military Academy.

For more information, please contact LTC John Clark at: jdclark@ku.edu.