MeCrea Wins Iowa State Fair's 4-H Market Show

DES MOINES, IA (08/25/2017) (readMedia)-- Logan MeCrea of Mahaska County captured the highly coveted Grand Champion Market Steer banner in the 4-H Market Beef show Wednesday at the 2017 Iowa State Fair.

Reserve Grand Champion Market Steer honors went to Joseph Herr of Adair County.

Grand Champion Market Heifer honors were awarded to Hunter Lock of Jefferson County.

The Reserve Grand Champion Market Heifer was exhibited by Kade Killmer of Dallas County.

Dalton Shanks of Jasper County claimed Third Place Overall Market Steer, and Jake Knudson of Emmet County took home Third Place Overall Market Heifer. Kyle Andrews of Wayne County received Fourth Place Overall Market Steer and Ryland McCormick of Warren County claimed Fifth Place Overall Market Steer.

Additional results below:

Champion Angus: Carson Deppe, Clinton County

Reserve Champion Angus: Sarah Norris, Wayne County

Champion All Other Breeds: T.R. Putz, Marion County

Reserve Champion All Other Breeds: Brady Edge, Cedar County

Champion Charolais: Ryland McCormick, Warren County

Reserve Champion Charolais: Abby Badger, Greene County

Champion Chianina: Kyle Andrews, Wayne County

Reserve Champion Chianina: Benjamin Carlson, Webster County

Champion Limousin: Alex Faidley, Polk County

Reserve Champion Limousin: Carson Walrod, Webster County

Champion Maine-Anjou: Dustin Lund, Adams County

Reserve Champion Maine-Anjou: Ashtyn Danker, Pottawattamie County

Champion Shorthorn: Payton Gonnerman, O'Brien County

Reserve Champion Shorthorn: Braden Langhoff, Linn County

Champion Shorthorn Plus: Colin Henzen- DeCap, Scott County

Reserve Champion Shorthorn Plus: Tanner Henningsen, Story County

Champion Simmental: Emma Hay, Polk County

Reserve Champion Simmental: Tyler Loudon, Union County

Champion Crossbred Division 1: Logan MeCrea, Mahaska County

Reserve Champion Crossbred Division 1: Kassidy Bremer, Dallas County

Champion Crossbred Division 2: Joseph Herr, Adair County

Reserve Champion Crossbred Division 2: Dalton Shanks, Jasper County

Champion Crossbred Division 3: Gunnar Larsen, Guthrie County

Reserve Champion Crossbred Division 3: Kaden Wilson, Union County

Window A Live Champion: Makayla Clark, Des Moines

Window A Live Reserve Champion: Collin Bauer, Audubon County

Window B Live Champion: Hayden Holdgrafer, Jackson County

Window B Live Reserve Champion: Gavin Hertrampf, Clayton County

For additional results visit


Frequently ranked as one of the top events in the country, the Iowa State Fair is the single largest event in the state of Iowa and one of the oldest and largest agricultural and industrial expositions in the country. Annually attracting more than a million people from all over the world, the Iowa State Fair located at East 30th and East University, just 10 minutes from downtown Des Moines is Iowa's greatest celebration with a salute to the best in agriculture, industry, entertainment and achievement. "Nothing Compares" to State Fair Thrills, August 10-20, 2017. For more information, visit