Student artwork selected for Juried 2017 Undergraduate Exhibition

The Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art (BFSDoArt) presented its annual Juried Undergraduate Exhibition, a showcase of artwork from undergraduate students, in the Center for Art & Theatre's Contemporary Gallery from March 31 - April 7.

The show offers students an opportunity to highlight their work and gain professional experience in a formal setting. Winners, selected by Augusta University's Department of Art Chairman Scott Thorp, were announced at the opening reception in March. This year's winners included:

Best in Show: Katie "Xed" Blankenship, "Roach Motel"
Juror's Choice: Emily Oren, "Borderline"
Honorable Mention: Marian Trainor, "Fibula"
Honorable Mention: Chloe Coulibaly, "Meditation"

Blankenship and Oren will each receive a solo exhibition at the Averitt Center for the Art, Legends Gallery during the 2017-2018 school year.

Other students with work selected for Juried 2017 were Soleil Collins, Charlynne Crutcher, Anna Currence, Allison Exley, Alex Furlough, Rikki Hagerty, Jessie Hamner, Tanner Higgs, Carter Jackson, Jennie Klabnik, Savannah Knauss, Denson McLain, Kimberly Powell Page, Keyanna Palmer, Ray Pettit, Kasey Roberts, Raegan Rowland, Allyson Schuman, Madeline Shelor, Sarah Shepherd, Virginia Skinner, Dylan Stembridge, Tanner Tracey, Stefani Waters, Shelby Whitaker, MacKenzie Willard.

"The BFSDoArt is an interdisciplinary program, a fact readily apparent through the great diversity of styles, media and disciplines on display in this year's 'Juried Undergraduate Exhibition,'" said Jason Hoelscher, BFSDoArt gallery director and assistant professor. "The compelling quality of our students' work, along with the discerning eye of our visiting juror, artist and scholar Scott Thorp, combined to make this dynamite exhibition."

To view these students click here: