Trine University celebrates accomplishments, recognizes employees

Related Media

ANGOLA (08/29/2017) As many higher education institutions struggle with declining enrollment and financial difficulties, Trine University is poised for continued growth and success, President Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D., told university faculty and staff.

In State of the University remarks shared Tuesday, Aug. 15, at the annual kick-off celebration for employees, Brooks said that in addition to record main campus enrollment the university will experience positive cash flow of more than $6.5 million this year, which will help the university retire its endowment loan in two years. The university's projected endowment of $30 million will be triple what it was 15 years ago.

"This is a very exciting time for Trine University. We have a message that resonates loud and clear with our audience, that no one is able to duplicate," he said. "I sincerely thank all of you for your dedication, your commitment, your service to our institution and to higher education. You are our greatest asset. You are our greatest resource. And you will continue to drive this very, very successful journey that we are all on called Trine University."

During the event in Ryan Concert Hall of the T. Furth Center for Performing Arts, the university recognized employees for their years of service and welcomed new employees.

Richard Spurgeon, campus operations, and Renee Van Wagner, library information services associate, were recognized for 20 years of service.

The following employees were recognized for 15 years of service: Sherry Albright, campus operations/housekeeping; William Barge, Ph.D., chair, Department of Computer Information Systems and Informatics; Jody Greer, vice president of finance; Ginny Hamilton, administrative assistant, athletic office; Vicki Moravec, Ph.D., chair, Department of Science; Marjorie Reinsch, academic service administrator, College of Graduate and Professional Studies; Mechelle Snyder, administrative assistant, Franks School of Education; and Joseph Thompson II, lab instructor.

Employees recognized for 10 years of service were: Racheal Benner, director of annual giving and development; Megan Cook-Bermes, counselor; Linda Cooper, employment specialist; Brandy DePriest, assistant professor, Department of Humanities and Communication; Scott Haskins, campus operations/maintenance; Kandee Heisler, lecturer, Department of Humanities and Communication; Julie Hoy, senior creative media specialist; Mark Kays, chair, Department of Music; Tom Trusty, chair, Department of Design Engineering Technology; Noah Warren, golf pro; Linda Werling, administrative assistant, student services; and Wendy Yagodinski, IT operations manager.

Employees recognized for five years of service were: Troy Abbs, head football coach; Catherine Benson, assistant professor, Ketner School of Business; Valda Colbart, administrative assistant, Ketner School of Business; Rodney Dunafin, campus operations/maintenance; Ryan Gould, head women's basketball coach; Timothy Jenkins, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Design Engineering Technology; Amanda Malefyt, Ph.D., chair, McKetta Department of Chemical and Bioprocess Engineering; Jamie Norton, director of human resources; Alexander Odemba, assistant professor, Ketner School of Business; Ryan Overton, Ph.D., chair, Reiners Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering; William Petty, director of campus safety; Andrew Rang, athletic director; Eric Ravellette, assistant football coach; Shea Sims, cheer/dance coach; Joni Smith, instructor, Department of Mathematics and Physics; Vern Stanger, lecturer, Ketner School of Business; Thomas Swick, dean, Ketner School of Business; Betsy Ulrich, senior regional director of admission, College of Graduate and Professional Studies; and Lindsey Wise, director of student leadership.

The university welcomed these new employees, hired within the last year: Elizabeth Agler, housekeeper; Thomas Almonroeder, Ph.D., assistant professor, Doctor of Physical Therapy program; Amy Alt, youth hockey program director; Carl Axen, campus safety officer; Gina Bidlack, housekeeper; Steve Blum, campus operations/maintenance; Jeffery Bornes, director of development services; Viola Bray, regional director of admission, College of Graduate and Professional Studies; Kevin Cole, head men's ACHA D III ice hockey coach; Benjamin Cullen, assistant football coach; Sloan Davis, admission counselor; Ann Derouin, campus operations/housekeeping; Denise Draper, marketing and communications coordinator; Nicholas Duffy, sports information director; Ian Edwards, assistant coach, men's ACHA D II ice hockey; Victoria Emoff, assistant coach, women's NCAA D III ice hockey; Jodi Gardner, senior admissions coordinator; Steven Gusa, Thunder Ice Arena technician; Beau Hamer, campus operations/housekeeping; Rae Henderson, administrative assistant, Office of the Registrar; Jeff Hoedt, sports information director; Bryan Iddings, instructional design and Moodle administrator; David Jacobs, men's head soccer coach; Joshua Johnson, assistant professor, physician assistant program; Josette Keesling, assistant director of human resources; Austin Keiser, assistant coach, men's NCAA D III ice hockey; David Kline, campus safety officer; Scott Lee, director of alumni relations and events; Andrew Lehman, assistant coach, men's basketball; Thomas Marquell, regional director of admission, College of Graduate and Professional Studies; Rick Munroe, vice president for development; Irrum Niazi, Ph.D., assistant professor, physician assistant program; Angelia Niederhelman, assistant professor, mathematics; Nicholas Pittman, regional director of admission, College of Graduate and Professional Studies; Brandin Ross, housekeeper; Leanne Ruediger, director of clinical education; Travis Smith, director of corporate and foundation relations; Lindsay Sprunger, housekeeping working supervisor; Rebecca Sullivan, employment specialist; Brenda Swanson, admission coordinator; Amber Titus, regional director of admission, College of Graduate and Professional Studies; Nathan Westfall, campus operations/maintenance; Tricia Widenhoefer, assistant professor, Doctor of Physical Therapy program; Samantha Wilson, housekeeper; and Paige Wohldmann, Thunder Ice Arena technician II.

Join the conversation, #TrineU.

Trine University, an internationally recognized, private, co-educational, residential institution, offers associate's, bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in the Allen School of Engineering & Technology, Ketner School of Business, College of Graduate and Professional Studies, Franks School of Education, Jannen School of Arts & Sciences and Rinker-Ross School of Health Sciences. Trine is a member of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association and offers 23 varsity sports (introducing men's and women's ice hockey, bowling, esports and women's triathlon in fall 2017). Its golf program includes the university-owned 18-hole championship Zollner Golf Course. Founded in 1884 and accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (, Trine operates a 450-acre main campus in Angola, Indiana, and education resource centers throughout Indiana and Michigan.