Winners of 2018 Holle Awards Announced

The University of Alabama College of Communication and Information Sciences has announced the winners of the 2018 Holle Awards for Excellence and Creativity in Communication.

The Holle Award for Excellence in Media Writing is awarded to UA's Mary Clay Kline, of Cleveland, Mississippi. Her submission led one judge to remark, "[Her] work is a demonstration that better reporting leads to better stories."

The Holle Award for Excellence in Public Speaking is awarded to UA's Grace Meagher of Joliet, Illinois. Her speech cast a light on the gender gap in children's literacy ability, that young boys read less than young girls. She directed the audience to curb this trend by encouraging the young boys in their lives to read more.

The Holle Award for Excellence in Screenwriting is awarded to UA's Blake Hudson, of Clanton, Alabama, for his work, "The Last Resorts Club." His script was praised by judges for its structure and its ability to lead the reader to great empathy for its characters.

"The 2018 Holle Award winners have proven to be a uniquely talented and inspirational group of students from across the country," said Dr. Mark Nelson, dean of the College of Communication and Information Sciences. "These students excel in communication and creativity, two things Brig. Gen. Everett Holle believed in and supported through his generosity in funding these awards. He will be missed but his legacy lives on in the Holle Awards."

The Holle Awards are named for the 1950 graduate of The University of Alabama who served as an announcer, director, writer and producer during his 40-year career at NBC 13. Holle was a member of the College of Communication and Information Sciences' board of visitors where he passionately invested in the success of University of Alabama students for years.

To view these students click here: