Winners of Ruth Patrick's Youth Art Competition Celebrated

Related Media

AIKEN, SC (10/27/2018) The University of South Carolina Aiken celebrated the winners of the STEAM Youth Art Competition during an ice cream social at the Ruth Patrick Science Education for the young artists and their families.

The Science, Technology Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics - or STEAM -- competition was open to all K-12 public, private, and home schooled students in the CSRA. Almost 150 entries were received from more than 20 schools in the CSRA.

"The purpose of the STEAM Art contest was to inspire students to tap into their inner artist and offering a powerful way to connect with and understand STEM fields, which include science, technology, engineering and math," said John Hutchens, director of special programs at Ruth Patrick Science Education Center.

"The STEAM concept continues to gain momentum as educators embrace artistic creativity as a fundamental form of expression that supports the development of 21st century skills.

"By engaging in STEAM artistic experiences, students must understand both function and form in design."

All entries were original, hand-produced artwork with a STEAM focus. Any media could have been used, including crayons, markers, pen and ink, colored pencils, paint, pastels, glue, glitter, collage, sand, yarn and other materials that create texture.

Entries were judged based on originality and artistic merit by a jury selected by the Ruth Patrick Science Education Center. Prizes were awarded in four divisions: Grades K- 2; Grades 3-5; Grades 6-8; and Grades 9-12.

Congratulations to the winners of Ruth Patrick Science Education Center's STEAM Youth Art Competition, which were announced during RPSEC's 30th anniversary celebration.

K-2 Grade

Best in Division: Landry Williams, 2nd grade, SAIL (School for Art and Infused Learning)

1st Place: Marshall Hebbard, 2nd grade, SAIL SAIL (School for Art and Infused Learning)

2nd Place: Cal Felsted, 1st grade, Homeschooled

3rd Place: Parker Burke, 1st grade, Chukker Creek Elementary

Honorable Mention:

Cayla Abrahamson, 1st grade, Abrahamson Academy

Rebecca Hancock, kindergarten, Byrd Elementary

Evan Watson, 2nd grade, Chukker Creek Elementary

Colten Young, 1st grade, Millbrook Elementary

3-5 Grade

Best In Division: Riley Walker, 3rd grade, Chukker Creek Elementary

1st Place: Zoey Watson, 4th grade, Chukker Creek Elementary

2nd Place: Landen Young, 4th grade, Millbrook Elementary

3rd Place:

Lindsay Gossage, 3rd grade, Curtis Baptist

Pactricia Peck, 4th grade, Millbrook Elementary

Honorable Mention:

Chloe Mckinon, 5th grade, Aiken Elementary

Londyn Scott, 4th grade, Millbrook Elementary

Ezekial Green, 5th grade, Mossy Creek Elementary

6-8 Grade

Best In Division: Sara Rosier, 7th grade, New Ellenton Middle

1st Place: Shelby Watkins, 8th grade, North Augusta Middle

2nd Place: Tyson Walker, 7th grade, New Ellenton Middle

3rd Place: Sayde Hudson-Dunway, 6th grade, Leavelle Mccampbell Middle

Honorable Mention:

Rebecca Walker, 6th grade, Kennedy Middle

Jesse Osbun, 8th grade, Ridge Spring Monetta Middle

9-12 Grade

Best In Division: Angel Thompson, 11th grade, Wagner-Sally High

1st Place: Sheridan Berger, 11th grade, Butler High

2nd Place: Jasmine Weed, 11th grade, Aiken High

3rd Place: Candace Amaker, 11th grade, Wagner-Sally High

Honorable Mention:

Andrea Battles, 11th grade, Aiken High

Shamony Suggs, 11th grade, Butler High

Mya Moses, 11th grade, Butler High