Annual awards honor outstanding graduating seniors

Every year as part of commencement, three awards are presented to exceptional students in the graduating class. Congratulations to this year's honorees!

Syeda Bano '20, a Politics and Sociology double major, and Erin Raquel Battaglia '20, a Psychology major, received the esteemed James Edward Oglethorpe Awards. This award is presented annually to two individuals in the graduating class who, in the opinion of the faculty, have excelled in scholarship, leadership, and character.

Mathematics major Zoe Nelson '20 earned the 2020 Sally Hull Weltner Award for Scholarship, which recognizes the student in the graduating class who has attained the highest grade-point average with the greatest number of hours in course work completed at the university. This award is given annually in loving memory of Sally Hull Weltner, wife of Dr. Philip Weltner, who was president of Oglethorpe University from 1944-1953.

To view these students click here: