Common Cause/NY Urges Onondaga County Leg to Vote Yes on Independent Redistricting

Members of the public are encouraged to watch the historic vote remotely

NEW YORK, NY (06/01/2020) (readMedia)-- Tomorrow, the Onondaga County Legislature will vote on a law that would create an independent redistricting commission to draw election districts for Onondaga County. The 17-member commission will include a diverse group of residents and safeguards against conflicts of interest. This is a far cry from the current politically controlled redistricting procedure for the county. If passed, the creation of the commission will be on the November ballot for voters to authorize. Members of the public can watch the historic vote at:

"In a democracy, voters should be choosing politicians, not the other way around," said Susan Lerner, Executive Director of Common Cause/NY. "Last year, the Syracuse Common Council overwhelmingly supported the creation of an independent redistricting commission. Onondaga County legislature should follow suit and create an independent commission."

Last year, voters in Syracuse overwhelmingly passed the creation of an independent redistricting commission. 14 out of the 17 members of the Onondaga County Legislature pledged to support fair redistricting. The members who signed the pledge are: Brian May, James Rowley, Timothy Burtis, Judith Tassone, Deb Cody, Julie Abbott-Kenan, Mary Kuhn, Chris Ryan, Peggy Chase, Kevin Holmquist, John McBride, David Knapp, Bill Kinne, and Linda Ervin.