Horseshoe Singles Throw Their Best Pitch at Iowa State Fair Horseshoe Contest

DES MOINES, IA (08/24/2017) (readMedia)-- Horseshoe throwers competed in the Iowa Amateur Championship and the Open Singles divisions of the Horseshoe Pitching Tournament held Thursday at the 2017 Iowa State Fair.

The State Fair hosts both Championship and Open Class competitions every Fair day. Division winners are crowned daily. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the horseshoe courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.

Iowa Amateur Championship

1) Jeff Greer, New Virginia

2) Fred Greiner, Washington

3) Rick Cook, Des Moines

4) John Redlinger, Washington

5) Caleb Cook, Des Moines

6) JJ Bell, Washington

Open Singles- Afternoon

Class A

1) Tom Tabat, Urbandale

2) Ron Rowley, West Des Moines

3) Tom Cranston, Keswick

4) John Ridgely, Earlham

Class B

1) Logan Duffy, Norwalk

2) Leo Toby, New Boston, Ill

3) Mel Blanton, New Lenox, Ill

4) Randy Clark, Monroe

Class C

1) Russell Wiese, Roland

2) Melany Reinboldt, Lisbon

3) Bob Wiese, Roland

4) Al Reinboldt, Lisbon

Open Singles- Evening

Class A

1) Richard Cranston, Keswick

2) Deb Davis, Ankeny

3) Ron Rowley, West Des Moines

4) Tom Cranston, Keswick

Class B

1) James Fortune, Des Moines

2) Steve Hatch, Knoxville

3) Mike McNace, Lakeview

4) John Ridgely, Earlham

5) Ralph Davis, Ankeny

Class C

1) Russell Wiese, Roland

2) Brandon DeBord, Des Moines

3) Rick Cook, Des Moines

4) Travis Roberts, Alexander


Frequently ranked as one of the top events in the country, the Iowa State Fair is the single largest event in the state of Iowa and one of the oldest and largest agricultural and industrial expositions in the country. Annually attracting more than a million people from all over the world, the Iowa State Fair located at East 30th and East University, just 10 minutes from downtown Des Moines is Iowa's greatest celebration with a salute to the best in agriculture, industry, entertainment and achievement. "Nothing Compares" to State Fair Thrills, August 10-20, 2017. For more information, visit