Nicholson & Galloway, Inc. and Building Conservation Associates, Inc. to be named Pillars of New York

Pillar of New York Gala Slated for November 15 at the Waldorf Astoria in NYC

Related Media


ALBANY, NY (11/12/2012)(readMedia)-- The Preservation League of New York State will present its most prestigious commendation, the Pillar of New York Award, to two honorees at the 2012 Pillar of New York Awards gala on November 15 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

Since 1992 the Preservation League has presented its Pillar of New York Award to individuals and organizations whose work in the field of historic preservation makes them role models for others throughout the state and nation.

Nicholson & Galloway, Inc., under the leadership of Co-Presidents Mark Haynes and Andrew Wilson, will be celebrated for its commitment to old world traditions, craftsmanship and values. Drawing on a vast body of experience the firm's meticulous masonry restoration, coppersmithing and waterproofing have contributed to the preservation of many of New York's most beloved landmarks including the New York Public Library, Rockefeller Center, the General Motors Building, the New York Yacht Club, the Museum of Natural History and New York City Hall.

Building Conservation Associates, Inc., and its founder, Raymond Pepi, will be honored for its leadership in preservation technology and planning. For over 25 years BCA has played an important role in the design and restoration of historic buildings including St. Patrick's Cathedral, the United Nations, Moynihan Station, the Park Avenue Armory, Grand Central Terminal's Oyster Bar, Carnegie Hall and Trinity Church Wall Street. BCA uses state-of-the-art technology to manage the highest quality conservation and preservation projects.

Each year the League presents The Pillar of New York Award to those who have demonstrated a keen understanding of the value of New York's historic resources by taking extraordinary actions to protect, preserve, and promote those assets. Tickets for the black tie gala start at $600 for individuals, and tables of 10 are available starting at $10,000. For more information or to purchase tickets, contact the Preservation League at 518-462-5658 x11.

"Before mass production and pre-fabrication, craftsmen made sure that their products were built to last. But over time, even the best-made building components begin to show their age, and that's where Nicholson & Galloway has made its most enduring contribution," said Anne Van Ingen, Chair of the Preservation League. "Through a commitment to time-honored craftsmanship, Nicholson & Galloway not only performs appropriate and sensitive restoration, they also keep these building trades alive. We are delighted to honor Nicholson & Galloway for their leadership in the field."

The League will also honor Building Conservation Associates. "By fostering a sense of place and the responsible protection of our landmark structures, Building Conservation Associates has served the best interests of New York and its citizens," said Jay DiLorenzo, president of the Preservation League. "Over the years, BCA has gained a reputation for preserving, documenting, and interpreting our treasured historic resources, and we are so pleased to recognize Ray Pepi and his firm as a Pillar of New York."

Past honorees of the League's Pillar of New York Award include Paul LeClerc, President Emeritus of the New York Public; Library Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners LLP of New York City; Matthew Bender IV of Albany; the Pell Family for their leadership in the preservation of Fort Ticonderoga and its surroundings; the Pratt Family for the founding and preservation of the Pratt Institute Campus; Tiffany & Co. and The Tiffany & Co Foundation; preservation advocates Connie and David Clapp; Phyllis Lambert, the film Citizen Lambert: Joan of Architecture, and its director, Teri Wehn Damisch; David Beer and Brennan Beer Gorman / Architects and Brennan Beer Gorman Monk / Interiors; Cook + Fox Architects; Southampton Town Councilman Dennis Suskind; Governor George E. Pataki; developer Frank J. Sciame; Ronald Lauder; the Honorable James R. Houghton; Mrs. Vincent Astor; Peggy and David Rockefeller; architect Hugh Hardy; and Jane Forbes Clark. The League has also previously honored the Leon Levy Foundation and its trustees Shelby White and Elizabeth B. Moynihan; William S. Beinecke, Chairman and Director of the Prospect Hill Foundation; Friends of Hudson; Dia:Beacon, Riggio Galleries; LuEsther T. Mertz Charitable Trust and the Mertz Gilmore Foundation; Chubb Corporation; Cablevision Systems; and the Hilton Hotel Corporation.

The Preservation League of New York State invests in people and projects that champion the essential role of preservation in community revitalization, sustainable economic growth, and the protection of our historic buildings and landscapes. It leads advocacy, economic development, and education programs all across the state. As the State's preservation leader, the League seeks to recognize and applaud individuals, organizations and businesses which understand the value of our historic resources and have taken extraordinary actions to protect, preserve and promote those assets.