Special Session Provides Funding for Flood-Affected Presidents in NE Minnesota

Minnesota Housing Quick Start Program Now Available with Up to $30,000 in Assistance

Related Media

SAINT PAUL, MN (08/24/2012)(readMedia)-- Minnesota Housing is now offering financial assistance for residents and rental property owners in Northeastern Minnesota and other areas damaged in the June flooding event who are not eligible for Small Business Administration (SBA) assistance or who need additional assistance. Funding in the amount of $12.2 million was secured for the Quick Start Disaster Recovery Program through the special legislative session Friday.

"Since no Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assistance was available for affected residents, our Quick Start Disaster Recovery Program is a critical resource," said Mary Tingerthal, Minnesota Housing Commissioner. "I want to make sure people know that there is state assistance available for homeowners who suffered flood damage."

The Quick Start Disaster Recovery Program provides assistance as a last resort when private insurance and federal assistance are not adequate to return a damaged home to its pre-disaster condition. The program provides a no-interest loan of up to $30,000 for home repair which is forgiven if the owner remains in the home for 10 years. Funding for repairs to rental housing properties is also available under similar terms and conditions.

To be eligible for Quick Start assistance, residents affected by the flood in the following counties and tribal lands must first apply to SBA for a physical disaster loan by contacting SBA's Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at (800) 659 2955, or apply online at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela : Aitkin, Carlton, Itasa, Lake, Pine, St. Louis and the Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. If SBA assistance is insufficient or unavailable, homeowners can then apply for a Quick Start loan.

Residents with damage in the following counties and tribal lands, where SBA assistance is not available, may apply directly for Quick Start loan assistance: Cass, Cook, Crow Wing, Dakota, Goodhue, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Rice, Sibley and Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, and Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe.

Minnesota Housing has contracted with six local administrators to deliver the program and work with residents to complete Quick Start applications. The application deadline for Quick Start is December 17, 2012. The SBA application deadline is October 15, 2012. Homeowners needing assistance should contact administrators directly in the following counties:

Arrowhead Economic Development Agency-AEOA:

702 South 3rd Ave

Virginia, MN 55792

800-662-5711, Ext. 288 or 218-749-2912, Ext. 288

Counties/tribal lands served: Cook, Lake, St. Louis, Itasca, Cass, the Fond du Lac and Grand Portage Bands of Lake Superior Chippewa and the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

Lakes and Pines Community Action Council

1700 Maple Street E

Mora, MN 55051

800-832-6082 or 320-679-1800, Ext. 119

Counties/tribal lands served: Aitkin, Carlton, Crow Wing, Pine, the Fond du Lac and Grand Portage Bands of Lake Superior Chippewa and the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

One Roof Community Housing

12 East 4th Street

Duluth, MN 55805

218-727-5372 Ext. 200

Area served: City of Duluth

Western Community Action

1400 South Saratoga Street

Marshall, MN 56258

800-627-3529 or 507-537-1416

Counties served: Kandiyohi and Meeker

Three Rivers Community Action

1414 North Star Drive

Zumbrota, MN 55992

800-277-8418 or 507-732-7391

Counties served: Dakota, Goodhue and Rice

Minnesota Valley Action Council

464 Raintree Road

Mankato, MN 56001

800-767-7139 or 507-345-6822

County served: Sibley

See the attached Quick Start fact sheet for more details.

Minnesota Housing finances affordable housing for low- and moderate-income households while fostering strong communities. The agency will invest more than $800 million in affordable housing this year. For more information, please visit www.mnhousing.gov.