31 Complete Recruit Firefighter Training at State Academy of Fire Science

ALBANY, NY (05/17/2012)(readMedia)-- Thirty-one probationary career and volunteer firefighters will graduate from the Recruit Firefighter Training (RFFT) Program on Thursday, May 17, 2012 at the State Office of Fire Prevention and Control's Academy of Fire Science in Montour Falls.

The students come from 19 fire departments and comprise the Academy's 63rd RFFT class.

"The RFFT program is long and arduous but professionally rewarding for students who successfully complete it," said State Fire Administrator Bryant Stevens. "I congratulate these 31 firefighters for their hard work and dedication and wish them the best in their careers."

The RFFT class is 11 weeks long and includes more than 500 hours of intense training which meets and exceeds the provisions of the New York State standard for career probationary and non-permanent firefighters. Graduates of the program also receive national certification in Firefighter I, Firefighter II and Hazardous Materials Operations.

The 63rd Recruit Firefighter Training Program class is comprised of the following firefighters:

Auburn FD (Cayuga County)

  • Brian C. Bennink
  • Kevin A. Schafer

Barnard FD (Monroe County)

  • Keith R. Thompson

Brighton FD (Monroe County)

  • J. Scott C. Baylor
  • Patrick Donovan

Buffalo Airport FD (Erie County)

  • David J. Basinski

Canandaigua FD (Ontario County)

  • Adam L. Palumbo

Corning FD (Steuben County)

  • Ryan C. Burrell
  • Chad M. Willis

Elmira FD (Chemung County)

  • Calvin T. Cady

Fairview FD (Dutchess County)

  • Charlie R. Boettcher
  • Eric W. Foster
  • Bradley J. Hildebrand

Geneva FD (Ontario County)

  • Del J. Parrotta

Ithaca FD (Tompkins County)

  • Nicholas P. Raponi
  • Nicolas A. Tier
  • Matthew J. Watros

Ithaca Airport FD (Tompkins County)

  • Brandon Karius

Jamestown FD (Chautauqua County)

  • Nicholas V. Amatuzzo
  • Ryan J. Waid

Lackawanna FD (Erie County)

  • Edward S. Piotrowski

Lake Mohegan FD (Westchester County)

  • Kenneth G. See

Ogdensburg FD (St. Lawrence County)

  • Scott A. McCormick
  • Michael E. Robinson
  • Jarred A. Wells

Plattsburgh FD (Clinton County)

  • Bobby J. Donahue, Jr.

Salamanca FD (Cattaraugus County)

  • Jonathan R. Smith

U.S. Coast Guard (Cape May, NJ)

  • Edward R. Nicholas

Watertown FD (Jefferson County)

  • Jared D. Lyndaker
  • David G. Marsala II
  • Christopher W. St. Joseph