Des Moines Education Association makes recommendations in upcoming school board race

DES MOINES, IA (08/14/2017) (readMedia)-- Des Moines, Iowa - August 10, 2017 – Des Moines Education Association (DMEA) members met with school board candidates on August 9, 2017 to discuss issues important to students and educators of Des Moines Public Schools and to make recommendations for the upcoming school board election held on Tuesday, September 12.

After an extensive interview process, DMEA recommends Rob Barron (At-Large), Kyrstin Delegardelle Shelley (At-Large), Dionna Langford (District 2) and Teree Caldwell-Johnson (District 4) to represent our community on the Des Moines Public Schools school board.

The DMEA believes all four candidates are focused on collaboration with stakeholders; believe in strong staff in our schools and support student-centered policy.

Rob Barron has championed the voice of communities of color and as an incumbent, brings four years of experience to the position. Rob is also a product of the Des Moines Public Schools.

As a public school teacher, Kyrstin Delegardelle Shelley brings the unique classroom perspective and how policy decisions impact students and educators.

Dionna Langford will continue to advocate for every child both as a member of the school board and through her work with Children and Families of Iowa. Dionna grew up in Des Moines and is a recent graduate of Des Moines Public Schools.

Teree Caldwell-Johnson has almost ten years of experience as a member of the Des Moines Public school board. Teree has a history of asking tough questions and doing what is best for students. She brings strong leadership to the school board.

The Des Moines Education Association appreciates all of the candidates for their time and commitment to every student in Des Moines Public Schools.