Roosevelt Middle School para educator awarded for excellence

Consuelo Steel-Cherry honored for her commitment to students

DES MOINES, IA (08/09/2017) (readMedia)-- Consuelo Steel-Cherry, a para educator at Roosevelt Middle School in Cedar Rapids, is a 2017 Excellence in Education Award runner-up. The award is sponsored by the Iowa State Education Association (ISEA). Steel-Cherry was chosen among a top field of educators-all nominated by colleagues, students, parents, and community members-because of the difference they make every day in the lives of Iowa's students.

"This award is truly about recognizing the educators who work hard on a daily basis and rarely get the recognition they so richly deserve," said Tammy Wawro, President of the ISEA. The nominations we receive are a testament to the dedication and compassion Iowa educators have for their students and the communities in which they live. Clearly, Iowa educators go above and beyond to help shape and, in many cases, to help change the lives of the students they teach," Wawro added.

Consuelo possesses the rare gift of knowing how to communicate with students in a kind, loving and compassionate way that draws them to her and allows them to open up and trust. Consuelo's ability to truly listen helps students understand they have a strong person on their side through the rough middle school years. She is an inspiration to both her colleagues and her students as she navigates the halls with her bright smile and positive energy. Her willingness to go the extra mile for any one of the many middle schoolers has earned her kudos from the hundreds of students who have benefited from her steady guidance and strong support. Consuelo touches hearts which is something that the entire school benefits from.

"It is clear that Consuelo's creativity, passion and work all combine to make a tremendous impact and we applaud her achievement," said Wawro. "The Excellence in Education Award celebrates educators like Consuelo who are invested in the lives of their students and go beyond what is expected to make an exceptional experience for them." Wawro added.

Now in its 17th year, the Excellence in Education Award honors educators around the state who make a difference in the classroom. Nominations are solicited beginning in January through March.

Steel-Cherry received a $100 gift from the ISEA during an awards ceremony and banquet on Monday, July 31, at Prairie Meadows Convention Center in Altoona, courtesy of the ISEA.

The winner of the 2017 Excellence in Education Award is Kim Pelzer, a teacher at Tipton Elementary in Tipton. Pelzer received $1,000 courtesy of the ISEA. Other runners-up also honored included Doug Renkly, an art teacher in the Harlan Community School District in Harlan; Marilyn Rippy, a music teacher at South Tama Elementary in Tama; and Meredith Skala, a teacher at Hopewell Elementary in Bettendorf. All runners-up received $100 courtesy of the ISEA.


The ISEA is a professional organization made up of educators who are dedicated to supporting and protecting a quality education for all Iowa students.